St Catherine's College Rowing Society
President: Prof Ceri Peach
Vice Presidents: Don Barton, Neil Chugani, Richard Peters, Sir Matthew Pinsent CBE, Ben Sylvester, Andrew Triggs Hodge OBE.

The Benjamin F. Sylvester Jr Award

The winner of the 2018 award is Holly Smith

Holly Smith being presented with the Ben Sylvester medal at the Boat Club Dinner

[BFS Award]

Holly Smith has been a 1st VIII oarswoman for 3 years. Whilst acknowledging the calm efficiency with which she has carried out her official duties as Boat Club Treasurer, those who nominated her for the award also said

Holly epitomises what Catz rowing is all about. She trained and coxed the novice women in Michaelmas, despite it not being her role, and really made us all love rowing as we really felt included as part of the club - and most of all made it really fun ... She also never says no to anything, and is always willing to row or cox any outing.

She has also been willing to help out with coxing men's crews whenever we needed a sub ... A lot of things would have gone undone this year if Holly didn't step in to help.

Also nominated were: Zoe Curtis, Nantas Nardelli, Dave Smith, Matt Smith and Niels Wicke.

Background of the Award

At the North American alumni reunion on March 16, 2002, Sir Peter Williams announced the establishment of an award to commemorate the splendid and varied contributions made by Benjamin F. Sylvester, Jr to the College. The award has been funded by the St Catherine's College (Oxford) Foundation.
A Benjamin F. Sylvester, Jr medal will be given annually to the member of the Boat Club who has most significantly contributed to enhancing the rowing life of St Catherine's College, Oxford.
Names of winners will also be displayed on a plaque to be mounted in the boathouse club room. Nominations will be solicited from members of the Boat Club and will be judged by a committee of former College oarsmen. The medal, designed by Dana Edmondson, depicts a Catherine wheel comprised of oars on a background of water. At the ends of the oars are flames symbolizing warmth and illumination. At the center of the medal is the crest of St Catherine's College, Oxford.

Design for the Benjamin F. Sylvester, Jr medal
[BFS Medal]

Previous Winners

2017 Georgios Ntentas
2016 James Wills (Alice Pickthall proxime accessit)
2015 Miriam Mahmoud
2014 Ben Baron
2013 Joshua Morgan
2012 Joanna Harrall
2011 Theresa Kevorkian (Phillip McCullough proxime accessit)
2010 Jack Plummer
2009 Anu Dudhia (Special Award)
2009 Malcolm Spencer
2008 James Dunbar (Dane van den Akker proxime accessit)
2007 Michael Tran (Katharine Pierce proxime accessit)
2006 Darren Chadwick (Michael Tran proxime accessit)
2005 Steve Wicks
2004 Dan Robson
2003 Mike Bull
2002 Emily Woodeson
Back to RS page